Help please
Dummy

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 KJP87

Posted 15 November 2012 - 09:26 PM

Hi All,

I'm still very new to all of this... I posted a topic a few hours ago, but when I search for it, it gives me an error and tells me it may have been deleted...? My issue is regarding my 5 month old son and his Dummy habit.. He is now waking a minimum of 5-6 times during the night and wont go back to sleep until its in his mouth again. The problem seems to be getting worse. Has anyone else had this problem? Does anyone have any helpful suggestions or tips for me to try?

Thanks so much original.gif

#2 Broxie

Posted 15 November 2012 - 09:31 PM

I just co-slept and stuffed it back in when he wanted it  ph34r.gif

#3 Paddlepop

Posted 15 November 2012 - 09:42 PM

Multiple dummies in his cot. My DD had 6 dummies in hers at all times. Try to teach him to put it back in for himself by gently guiding his hand with the dummy in it to his mouth. I can't remember what age we taught DD to do this but it was fantastic when she learnt how to do it. The multiple dummies in the cot also meant that she could easily find a dummy to put back into her mouth.

Or, bite the bullet and get him to quit the dummies altogether. My DD is 2y9mths old and we took her dummies away a few weeks ago. She still looks for them, and has now started sucking her fingers even when she is awake. Grrr!

#4 niggles goes feral

Posted 15 November 2012 - 09:52 PM

If all else fails you could consider thinking about it as a blessing. By that I mean he could wake that many times even without a dummy and at least this way you have a simple effective way to resettle.

That said I have had this issue but it doesn't last long. Put in some time helping him learn to replace his own dummy while he's awake and pop a few dummies in the cot to help him find one easily. It's a phase that's passed fairly quickly for me...then you get teething.

#5 LovenFire

Posted 15 November 2012 - 09:56 PM