4 y/o kinder question
Younger siblings allowed to attend events?

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Peggybrown

Posted 21 November 2012 - 07:59 PM

Just after some different people's experience with this as I am new to the situation...

Our kinder (4 year old in Victoria) requests that younger siblings do not attend kinder events (eg breakfast at kinder day, grandparents day etc, and now the kinder christmas party) - these are all events held during normal kinder session times and parents/carers are invited/encouraged to attend and/or help out.

Parents/carers are given notices with the invitations stating the younger siblings are not to attend but that exceptions will be made for babies.

Is this normal? WDYT?
Thanks

#2 WYSIWYG

Posted 21 November 2012 - 08:02 PM

My DD1s Kindy welcomes younger siblings to all events, even parent helper (as long as sibling isn't disruptive).

#3 Elemenopee

Posted 21 November 2012 - 08:03 PM

My boys are at a small, rural preschool (or kindergarten) in SA. Siblings are more than welcome. In fact, at the Christmas breakup, Santa always has a enough presents for little brothers and sisters as well.
Parent involvement would drop to about 0% if parents could not bring their young kids - they would not have anyone else to look after them.

#4 Emby

Posted 21 November 2012 - 08:06 PM

Siblings are welcome at our kinder, any day, any time, event or otherwise, as long as there's a caregiver in charge of them.

#5 FeralZombieMum

Posted 21 November 2012 - 08:09 PM

It could be due to OH&S or insurance reasons. They could also be limited to the space and x amount of people allowed in the building - so could be considered a fire hazard or something.

Or could be they've had issues in the past with siblings running riot and parents not supervising their children.

When it's been a Mothers day morning tea, it was a chance for the kinder child to have one on one attention with mum, same for Father's day breakfast.