Interested in Cardmaking and Scrapbooking
Don't really know where to start..

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 TwoBubbas

Posted 29 November 2012 - 12:55 PM

Hi,

For a while now I've been getting interested in cardmaking and scrapbooking (doing alot of browsing around my local Spotlight!).  I've made a few cards (very basic) with my little girl and it is something we like doing together and that I also like doing on my own.  I love giving handmade things to people and think they have so much more meaning.

I'm a bit stuck with a few things.  I would love some tips from experienced cardmakers and scrapbookers on how they got started..
- where is the best place (magazines, websites etc.) to learn techniques and the products available etc?  
- how did you learn how to do it?  Self taught?
- what basic tool and equipment are pretty much essentials when starting out?
- where is the best place to buy papers and other materials.  I only really know of Spotlight and have seen lots of websites but what sites are really good?

I can imagine this becoming quite an expensive addiction, but do think the things that you can produce are so lovely!  I really look forward to getting some tips from you all.

Many thanks..

#2 Tracey2

Posted 29 November 2012 - 02:07 PM

I have been scrapbooking for about 6 years. It can be quite expensive but the outcome is truly beautiful and something that you can hand down to your children.

The most essential things you will need is a cutter (this is where you slide a blade down a track to get a straight cut) and your adhesive. I use double sided tape as there is no drying time needed.

Then it is all about paper and emblishements (pretty things that you use to sick on a page).

Spotlight of cause has a big range, there is also Lincraft, Kmart and Big W. Do a google search for your local scrapbooking store.

There are magazines that you can buy covering all types of cardmaking and scrapbooking.