Want to become a financial planner
advice please

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 cornflake head

Posted 04 December 2012 - 04:00 PM

Hi Everyone,  I have been thinking about becoming a Financial Planner since 2008 (right before the GFC hit - put it on hold).  I live in regional WA at the moment, but we should be moving back to a main city in the next 3 or so years.  I have a business degree in Human Resources and around six years experience in HR/Payroll etc.

I am after any advice on entering the financial planning industry, all the jobs I find online require industry experience or paraplanner experience - what counts as "industry experience"?

Also, am I better off to do my Diploma Financial Services and then try to find an employer who would support further study, or jump right in and begin my Graduate Diploma of Financial Planning with no experience (costing around $16,000).....

Any insights/advice would be appreciated!

#2 Melly23

Posted 04 December 2012 - 07:14 PM

Hi cornflake head,

I work as a Paraplanner - I work in a small financial planning firm 2 days per week and also do contract work from home.  I worked as a Paraplanner then Financial Planner from 2000 to 2003 before leaving to start my family.  I graduated with my Diploma of Financial Planning (DFP from the Financial Planning Association) at 8 months pregnant!!!

Three kids later, I found myself "unemployable" as relevant industry experience necessitated having worked for 5 of the last 8 years.  So I set about doing the Diploma of Financial Services (essentially the same as Units 1-4 of the old DFP) with Kaplan Education.  It is distance education, the only requirement being travelling to one of their offices to sit the end-of-unit exam.  However, I think you can sit that externally if you pay a fee and arrange to have an impartial third party oversee you.