Do you have hang-ups from school?

• Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#1 Bart.

Posted 18 December 2012 - 08:37 PM

I do.  It's ridiculous, but I've been carting these hang-ups around with me for 20 years.

From Year 4 - 8, I was the poor kid in a big private school.  I had some friends but mostly I was teased and treated like an outsider.  I was totally in awe of those kids; they seemed so beautiful, confident and illustrious with their fancy parents and new uniforms.  I left in Year 9 to move interstate and it was a great confidence booster for me to be out of that school.

For years, every time I've gone to that town (my parents live there), I've dreaded running into those people because crazily, I just didn't feel I've achieved enough to be equals.  Yeah, how sad is that.

Well, on the weekend, I finally did.  I caught up with one of the girls in my class who was one of the cool kids and she's still in touch with most of the people who'd made those few years so challenging.  She gave me quick updates on everyone and I was surprised and gratified to know they're ordinary, just like me.  I shouldn't have been comparing my life to their's after all.  I feel like I've got some closure.

I didn't realise just how much of that time I still carry around with me and I was wondering if anyone else is in the same position?  (My husband went to the same school and I definitely know he's still carrying major hang-ups from his time there so maybe it was the culture?)

#2 i-candi

Posted 18 December 2012 - 08:51 PM

Yeah I was the poor kid (well dad made out he was poor so he didn't have to pay the fees I suspect) in the private school with a uniform that really needed replacing more often that it was. Also dad, due to court orders was meant to pay for schooling and associated costs. So often we had to beg him for bus fares (WA no such thing as free travel), money for books etc. It was horrible begging for money sad.gif