Is presentation everything?

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 peachkoala

Posted 23 December 2012 - 04:37 PM

I have spent the last few hours attempting to make the ice cream cake that is on the front cover of the current SFI mag.

It is my first attempt at cake pops and ice cream cake. When I serve it on Tuesday it will look nothing like what it does in the mag. The cake pops were falling apart and I didn't have a foam thing to stick them in so they could cool once decorated. I didn't have the right size loaf pan and the biscuit base got mixed in with the ice cream.

Sigh.....am wondering if I should actually serve it. I am sure it tastes nice but the presentation is going to look like my kids did it, when it was all me sad.gif

So, is presentation everything, would you serve a cake that looked like a mess, but will prob taste really nice?

#2 amabanana

Posted 23 December 2012 - 04:41 PM

So long as it tastes fine.
Just say the kids made it.  wink.gif  Or cover it in berries and chocolate sauce or something.  biggrin.gif

I'm sure it will be yummy and that's the most important thing.

#3 BadCat

Posted 23 December 2012 - 04:42 PM

I'm all about the taste.  You should see some of the dodgy looking food I've served up over the years.

Besides, food tastes better when you're laughing.  laughing2.gif

#4 ubermum

Posted 23 December 2012 - 04:44 PM

Ever heard of Eton Mess?

(that's a vote for no).

#5 peachkoala

Posted 23 December 2012 - 04:57 PM

Thanks for your responses. After spending so long making the cake I can't be stuffed cooking dinner, so I have just ordered pizza.

My diet is so far out the window I can't see it anymore. Have been snacking on white choc bits, and white choc melts all day.  ph34r.gif

#6 Fr0g

Posted 23 December 2012 - 05:01 PM

A) blame it on the kids.
B) Pretend you accidentally dropped it.
C) say you made it blind-folded, because you like a challenge.

#7 Funwith3

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:54 PM