Any other musicians on EB?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Kalota

Posted 26 December 2012 - 07:58 PM

I love playing in my band, but wonder if I'll ever have to give it up sad.gif I'm a full-time primary school teacher as well and I think that when I probably have kids/get busier, all my music will go to the wayside and there'll be no time for rehearsals/gigs etc! Which makes me sad.

So, any other practising musicians on EB, and if so, how do you manage your time with music/your life?

Just curious! original.gif

Edited by Kalota, 05 January 2013 - 09:34 PM.

#2 Beanbag Warrior

Posted 26 December 2012 - 08:14 PM

Classroom music teacher.

In the local choir, 2 reheasals per week.

Only percussionist in town, so I do a lot of the local musicals as well.

#3 sandoz

Posted 26 December 2012 - 08:14 PM

I play flute original.gif

I play with 2 community bands, one is a concert band and the other a jazz/stage band.  I only get to practice every second week I'm parenting on my own, Mums only able to watch DD that often). Apart from working its about the only thing I do for me so I try to make it as often as  I can!

Just bought myself a new flute for Christmas  biggrin.gif

#4 Froyo

Posted 26 December 2012 - 09:52 PM

I have a BMus and AMusA in voice. I also play (and have taught) clarinet and piano.
I have been in quite a few musicals, operas and recitals- not for a while now though. It's hard to make a living. One day I'd like to complete the FMus exam- some of my repertoire from my BMus recitals would more than cover it- it's just a matter of actually doing the exam.

#5 Kalota

Posted 26 December 2012 - 09:54 PM

Oh definitely, there is no way I could make a living on my music! Which is why I am a full-time teacher as well, and which is why I worry that, one day, I won't have time for music for fun on the side anymore sad.gif

#6 jayskette

Posted 26 December 2012 - 10:14 PM

Not very well sad.gif