Working with rice paper

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 FarmBaby

Posted 31 December 2012 - 10:42 AM

Does anyone have any tips on working with rice paper to make cold rolls? Mine always end up loose and have folds in them. I would love to make a roll that is nice and tight so when you bight into it the filling doesn't go everywhere.

#2 Sammzz

Posted 31 December 2012 - 11:26 AM

Firstly practice practice practice... wink.gif ...I'm no expert but my rolls are getting better biggrin.gif

Use cold water and dip the rice paper into the water to get wet and let the excess water drip off (don't leave them in there) place on plate to assembly the fillings (don't worry that the rice paper is still firm it will be soft by the time you finish assembling your fillings)
I like to put the fillings in the 1/3 section closes to me,
lift the flap closes to me over the fillings and making sure that it is firm,
hold that in place,
fold the flap on the right over and then the left side,
so you have a rectangle of sort with a trail,
holding everything firmly, starting rolling like you would a newspaper!

Hope that made sense.

Gee it's harder to explain it than do it! biggrin.gif

#3 Mumma_G

Posted 31 December 2012 - 11:39 AM

I do mine one sheet at a time. I wet a teatowel and fold it around my chopping board. I then wet the rice paper.I just use tap water. I put the filling you want to see on top down first, usually meat, then everything else. I place mine directly in the middle and fold in the top and bottom edges first. Fold over the left side then the left side.

#4 FrenchSoda

Posted 31 December 2012 - 11:46 AM

I think Sammzz has it down pat! All i can add is that I find a large frypan is a good size for the soaking water and, as an alternative method, i saw an episode of nigel slater's cooking show where he was taught by a Vietnamese cook to do it this way instead of soaking: