Is sewing hard.?

• Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 Oriental lily

Posted 02 January 2013 - 08:07 PM

I am really struggling to find clothes I really love for myself and my 9 year old daughter.

I have toyed with the idea of learning to sew for many years but have never found the initiative.

Mainly because I am afraid I will invest in a machine and it will gather dust.
Ad DH will say I told you so rolleyes.gif . ( like the home gym, like the keyboard,like the expensive easel, like the aviary and other hobbies I have started that I lose interest in....)

But this seems much more practical....

But is it hard for a total novice to learn?

I know there is some community sewing classes that occasionally pops up now and then and spotlight has classes.

I have also noticed some you tube tutorials.

But how long would it take for a total novice to say... Learn to make a pretty plain skirt.?

What's harder, learning how to work the machine or following a pattern?

Also what's a very basic, fairly cheap novice machine?

Thanks for any feedback.

#2 Guest_3Keiki_*

Posted 02 January 2013 - 08:14 PM

I think Spotlight has a machine on sale at moment for 179, it is a brother (I think) and looks good for price.
Learning to sew.... well honestly with some instruction from say Spotlight on how to use your machine and some of the online tutes I think most people could be having a pretty skirt made up in their first weekend.
It is honestly not hard, I have to head offline now but will pop back with a list of my favourite beginner patterns and tutes.

#3 AnotherFeral

Posted 02 January 2013 - 08:15 PM

You'd probably get the hang of using the machine within a lesson or two. Following patterns can be harder - it depends on the pattern, how good the instructions are, etc..