Chicken breed advice and where do you buy them from?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 lucy-lu

Posted 03 January 2013 - 01:16 PM

Hi,

I'm after some more chickens. We already s have 4 Ida browns.

Not sure what breed we would like though, I would like it to be a good layer, look different to isa (not brown), and a decent layer, and good to have running around the bAckyard.

Also, where in sydney can I get them from, I am in the hills area.

Thanks,

#2 melaine

Posted 03 January 2013 - 01:27 PM

I'm not a chicken expert - but our Isa Browns can be a bit cliquey when new birds are introduced so when we wanted some different chickens recently we got Australorps because they are a larger breed so would be less likely to be bullied by the Isas.

Can't help where to get them from as we are in Victoria - but we couldn't get them at point of lay because there were never any available at that age, so we got them at about ten weeks old I think.

They've settled in well, we kept them separate for a while and gradually introduced them and all has been well.

Edited by melaine, 03 January 2013 - 01:28 PM.

#3 Walkers

Posted 03 January 2013 - 01:32 PM

We had a Salmon Faverolle that was sadly taken by our dog a few nights ago. Really sweet natured and great with the kids. They are quite a large size & look gorgeous scratching around in the yard. We are not in NSW so not sure where to buy from but try looking on the net.

#4 FiveAus

Posted 03 January 2013 - 01:33 PM

We get ours from poultry auctions, you can wander around and look at the different breeds before the bidding starts and mark down the cage numbers of the ones you want to bid on. Lots of fun!