Nurses or midwives: has your employer ever stuffed up your hours worked and pay grade?
Posted here for more traffic

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Mianta

Posted 15 January 2013 - 05:12 PM

I have been working in my current job for around 6 months. Before that, I worked with the same employer, different health district for 7 months, permanent part time. I also worked for them on the casual pool for about 9 months before that. Prior to this I worked in the private health system, with the one employer for around 4 years.

The private company were able to keep track of my hours perfectly, raising my pay grade as necessary. My current employer, being the public health system, cannot keep track at all.  So far, they have miscalculated the hours in my current position, to about half of what I have really done and completely forgotten to add my hours as a casual to my tally. It's so frustrating!

Has anyone had this happen and what did you need to do, short of going into the "health support services" office to correct the mistake yourself? Their office is in Newcastle, around 600 ks from here, so I can't go in.  If it happened to you, did they back pay you without too much trouble? By my calculations, my pay grade should have gone up around 6 months ago.

TIA

Edited by Mianta, 15 January 2013 - 05:15 PM.

#2 melaine

Posted 15 January 2013 - 05:24 PM

I work in a public hospital in Victoria and have done so for 13 years across multiple networks and hospitals including acting up grades, having secondments involving being paid different grades for different days etc.

There's been the occasional teething issue when I've started new jobs - making sure they have the same anniversary date etc so that my pay grade changes at the right time (I had to get a certificate of service at one point to prove my grade) but overall, no, no significant issues involving not being paid for casual work etc.