Where do you love in France?

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 carls888

Posted 18 January 2013 - 07:56 AM

Hi
as part of our large trip this year we are planning on staying in France for 6 weeks +. A two week stint in Paris and then???

I have been looking at St Remy, Roussillon, areas of Provence/Luberon and maybe cote d'azur.

I would love to know where you love as we would like to base ourselves somewhere in France the following year for 6-12 months and are checking it all out this year.

DH and I have been before, but 15 years ago and pre-children, so a completely different style of trip.

Thanks

C  biggrin.gif

#2 baddmammajamma

Posted 18 January 2013 - 08:03 AM

I was a foreign exchange student when I was 16 (in Holland). We spent the entire summer in France -- the Loire River Valley and Provence. Both are gorgeous, but Provence holds a special place in my heart. It is so stunningly gorgeous, great weather (well, depending on when you go), with so much history. I love that there's also easy access to the Meditteranean and mountains. So breathtaking and "chillaxed."

Do you need a babysitter? original.gif

#3 IsolaBella

Posted 18 January 2013 - 08:04 AM

I like St Emillion and the area bordering Spain and Andora.

Have a Soft Spot for La Rochelle (& Ile de Re)

It really depends on what you are looking for.

#4 The Old Feral

Posted 18 January 2013 - 08:04 AM

Last trip we spent some time around the Uzes area near the Pont du Gard, it was magnificent and I often dream of living there!

We did day trips further south to the Camargue region which is also wonderful and quite different from anything else I've seen in France, it has been very laid back and rural feel and the Basque influence is obvious.

#5 FluffyOscar

Posted 18 January 2013 - 08:07 AM

I still remember the smell of late summer fig trees as I walked up the hill to Cezanne's studio in Aix.