electoral register question

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 melandned

Posted 23 January 2013 - 02:03 PM

hi all
hoping there are some genealogy buffs out there that can help me

i am looking for my female relative
i have her address correct in 1923 as it is on a birth certificate, assume it is her parents house
trouble is, that address is absent from electoral registers til 1929
the address is 112 newark street, and from 1924-28 (which is all i have searched so far) the street stops at 110! grrr

it appears in 1929 with just her name

i know people weren't on the rolls til age 21 but i would assume she would be living with her parents in the earlier years so the address would still be there
or maybe the boundaries moved but it's weird that the birth certificate says the address in 1923 and then it comes onto the registers in 1929

any ideas? i'm quite new to this so just have no idea
thanks heaps
mel

#2 noi'mnot

Posted 23 January 2013 - 02:11 PM

I don't know much about these things, but is it possible that the address was recorded incorrectly? Are you certain of the suburb? Is it possible that they lived at 110 and 112 was accidentally written?

Why exactly do you need the address details?

Sorry if these are silly/useless questions, feel free to ignore if you want. original.gif

#3 toosenuf

Posted 23 January 2013 - 03:04 PM

could her birth cert have been registerd after 1929, hence the address that existed only after 1929.

also maybe before 1929, the address may have been know as 112 locally but not officially recognised until after 1929

#4 qak

Posted 23 January 2013 - 03:18 PM

Maybe her parents were registered at a different address?

I am not clear why you need her address back then either ... wouldn't the most recent address be more pertinent if you are looking for her?

#5 melandned

Posted 23 January 2013 - 03:44 PM