I feel really silly. Am I too old to study?

• Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1 Indiana Bones

Posted 01 February 2013 - 12:57 PM

Today I sat an exam. And as I was leaving, I had a bit of a self crisis thinking to myself 'I'm just too old to be sitting exams!!!!!'
I am studying to hopefully become an anthropologist. Or archaeologist. I am in my second year. I am also 32 this year. I am also off campus, distance student.

I didn't go to uni when I was younger for a wide range of issues, but mainly related to finances.

I am starting to feel that I am just becoming 'too old' to be taken seriously once I graduate. I expect to be around 35 ish when I do. I also want to try to get into Honours and hopefully do a PhD, but I'm just a bit depressed at doing this in my 30s when I'll be competing with students a decade younger than me for potential jobs.

Am I being silly? Am I stupid in thinking I can career change when I'm in my 30s, with no experience in the field?

#2 whipmix

Posted 01 February 2013 - 01:02 PM

No way!
You are never to old to learn, we are always learning.
In terms of jobs, you may be a little old than others applying however you will have that maturity and life
Experience which I think is a huge positive.
Good luck with your studies!

#3 melaine

Posted 01 February 2013 - 01:02 PM

Not at all!

I studied at the same age - and wasn't the oldest in my course. Back in the old days when I did my original degree we had a number of 'mature age' students who did very well and have gone on to have fantastic careers after graduating in their mid 30s - 40s.

Good luck!

#4 B.feral3

Posted 01 February 2013 - 01:04 PM

I hope not because I'm older than you and doing my degree!!  unsure.gif

#5 opethmum

Posted 01 February 2013 - 01:05 PM

Nope not at all!

#6 Always amazed!

Posted 01 February 2013 - 01:05 PM

not silly..