Cooking with children
How does it not drive you mental?

• Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 Romeo Void

Posted 04 February 2013 - 08:17 PM

I've tried and TRIED but having them in the kitchen with me does my head in and I usually end up waving my hands around like a crazed Italian mama and ordering them OUT!  I'm still relatively new to cooking so it's often a case of me trying to feel my way, and with them underfoot I usually end up stuffing something up...like this last weekend I used plain instead of self raising flour in the banana bread.  And oh my god the MESS!  And the fingers in EVERYTHING.

If your children help you out how do you handle this?  Do you only have one at a time, is that what I'm doing wrong?  Do you just put up with dough on the floor, the walls...the cat?  I have DD aged 6 and DS aged 4.

#2 dae-gu

Posted 04 February 2013 - 08:22 PM

I definately try to have only one at a time, lol.

#3 ~sydblue~

Posted 04 February 2013 - 08:25 PM

My first reply was along the lines of "Well you have to knock them out and marinate them until tender, then slow cook."

#4 MissButtercup

I have a 6yo and 3yo so understand where your coming from. Have you tried just letting them decorate cup cakes, biscuits etc... after their baked? Might be a good starting point.

I am a bit of a neat freak so to start with the mess drove me crazy but after seeing the smiles on their faces from enjoying helping out I relaxed a little and just let them go crazy. After all, the walls, floors and even the cat can be washed and those happy moments are priceless wink.gif

Edited by MissButtercup, 04 February 2013 - 08:26 PM.

#5 Chicky whicky

I give them a chopping board, a butter knife, and whatever vegetable I am cooking and let hem go for it. But the baking? That takes up a lot of my patience.

#6 Therese

Posted 04 February 2013 - 08:26 PM

QUOTE (~sydblue~ @ 04/02/2013, 09:25 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>