work and study
nursing

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 crazyforkids

Posted 08 February 2013 - 02:17 PM

i have just put in an application to do agecare while i study. This is my first year.
The agency said that i would be on call and i would not get much notice. Not sure how i will go with that.

Anyway, i already work nights at coles. I dont know if i should give that up and just hope i get enough nursing work  or stick if it for awhile.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

#2 JuliaGulia

Posted 08 February 2013 - 03:46 PM

I have worked in aged care and would hate to do it through an agency.  The work is very hard when you don't know the residents and routines, plus you could be sent anywhere.

I would recommend going directly to a couple of aged care residences and trying to organise work through one of those.  It is quite likely you will do a placement in first year in aged care, and they might be keen to hire you after that.

I would not be giving up your current job, because the work may not come quickly.

#3 wesse

Posted 08 February 2013 - 03:55 PM

Have you tried looking at your local hospital?
The hospital I work at employs AIN's for IPS (watching scheduled patients) and on the rehab and aged care wards.
As pp said, agency work in aged care is a tough gig.

#4 KylieferalMin0gue

Posted 08 February 2013 - 03:56 PM

QUOTE (JuliaGulia @ 08/02/2013, 04:16 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I have worked in aged care and would hate to do it through an agency.  The work is very hard when you don't know the residents and routines, plus you could be sent anywhere.

I would recommend going directly to a couple of aged care residences and trying to organise work through one of those.  It is quite likely you will do a placement in first year in aged care, and they might be keen to hire you after that.

I would not be giving up your current job, because the work may not come quickly.