Melbourne mum jailed for baby car death

• Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 jules095

Posted 12 February 2013 - 12:26 PM

A Melbourne mother who killed her baby girl by leaving her in a hot car will spend nine months in jail before being eligible for parole

http://news.ninemsn.com.au/national/2013/0...-baby-car-death

#2 HurryUpAlready

Posted 12 February 2013 - 12:32 PM

Good.

She had been warned it was a dangerous thing to do yet she continued to leave the baby in the car and the poor little thing died as a result.

Stupid Stupid Stupid

#3 Mrs Dinosaurus

Posted 12 February 2013 - 02:31 PM

I'm not a pro-gaol person however I can see the merit in sending a strong message to other people who leave kids in cars for no reason other than they can't be a*sed getting them out.

I am really strongly against leaving kids in cars for any length of time and any reason though so that probably colours my opinion.

That poor, poor child sad.gif

#4 Guest_Sunnycat_*

Posted 12 February 2013 - 02:40 PM

I feel for the mother and most likely she will blame herself foreer. She was deliberately negligent but she would never have meant to kill her daughter.

I can't imagine being young with 2 small kids , no support and desperately doing anything to get the child to sleep. But she shouldn't have left her in the hot car.

I think the jail term is sufficient given the circumstances.

#5 Feral_Pooks

Posted 12 February 2013 - 02:47 PM

The system failed that baby by leaving her in her mother's care and that's all I have to say about that.

#6 Froger

Posted 12 February 2013 - 02:55 PM