Can't get rid of cold, ideas?

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 *cough*

Posted 25 February 2013 - 10:15 AM

Hi Ladies

I started feeling unwell last Thursday by the evening had a bad head cold. I've been taking cold & flu tabs but no change. Yesterday I bought different cold & flu tabs and a nasal spray as I was flying home from a conference. The flight was horrible and landing was agonizing.

Today I'm just as sick as I have been and am now coughing as well.

So I need to get rid of this cold ASAP. I'm doing a triathlon on Sunday and I do not want to pull out.

Any old wives tales? Home remedies?

I don't think it's worth going to the doctor... but maybe I should? To me it seems just a cold, not tonsillitis etc.

#2 jindy poss

Posted 25 February 2013 - 10:22 AM

Try eating a whole raw clove of garlic, tastes bad but has worked for me before!

#3 jibsi

Posted 25 February 2013 - 10:26 AM

Hi OP,

REST and SLEEP!!

Also, I'm not a doctor, but my rule of thumb is, if the symptoms have not improved in a week, it probably isn't a cold.
If you feel feverish, shivery, coloured mucous, etc it might be a bacterial infection and you might need antibiotics or something. But you'd have to go to a doctor to get checked out.

Other than that I think the cold and flu meds are your best bet at this stage and sleep it off :-)

#4 Beltie

Posted 25 February 2013 - 10:30 AM

Plenty of zinc to help move it along quicker.

#5 Team Awesome

Posted 25 February 2013 - 10:43 AM

Olive leaf extract.
Colloidal silver
Elderberry extract

I also do a honey soy ginger chicken or a sweet potato , pumpkin and ginger soup (I play around with ingredients as we can't include onion or garlic due to Dd3 being allergic but would add lots in if we could) these helped DH knock a strain of the flu quickly last year

#6 Blueberrymummy

Posted 25 February 2013 - 10:49 AM

QUOTE (jindy poss @ 25/02/2013, 11:22 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>