Birth Plans?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 integriti

Posted 30 April 2013 - 08:54 AM

Has everyone done theirs up? 1st timer and have NO IDEA!
Any suggestions? I’ve tried googling templates, but only get blank ones?

I don’t know what I want: I’ve never done it before! ohmy.gif

#2 Runner5

Posted 30 April 2013 - 09:04 AM

I've been wondering whether or not to do one myself so I'll be eagerly watching for the replies - I feel I have a pretty good rapport with my OB and no massively strong feelings on how things shake out so long as we get a baby at the end - obviously I have preferences but I'm a little wary of setting my heart on things going a certain way and having to deal with the disappointment of not getting what I want.  I don't know, I could well be setting myself up for epic fail!

#3 MangoTango

Posted 30 April 2013 - 10:49 AM

I have prepared a very simple 'birth plan' - not even sure if it constitutes a birth plan - which outlines my key preferences and what to do it in an emergency.

I broke it up under the following sections:

Overall considerations - who I want with me, nominating my husband to make decisions for me if I cannot, preference for vaginal birth
Labour - ability to walk around for as long as possible, use of bath/shower, episiotomy, husband to cut cord
Pain relief - no analgesia or anaesthetic until I request it
Emergency c-section - what should happen when baby is born etc, father to remain with baby at all times
Post-birth - keep baby with parents / in room at all times, skin to skin immediately, breastfeed asap

This is as much for my husbands reference as it is my OB and midwives. I trust my OB implicitly but would like my husband to advocate on my behalf if I cannot.

Ultimately, all I am concerned about is the safe arrival of my baby, so I am more than prepared that most of the information in this plan will go out the window depending on the circumstances!

Hope this helps!

#4 AliC05