FYOS 2014

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
162 replies to this topic

#151 cristina86

Posted 23 January 2014 - 05:40 PM

My DD is self taught as well, she was a whole word reader initially but now can break down unfamiliar words into syllables. She is reading Aussie Nibbles/Bites and other easy chapter books that are on special shelves at our local library. I expect she will be placed in the K-1 class  and there will be other kids at her level in year 1 if not K. I am a bit worried about the social side of being in a composite as she is only 4.5, but at our school that would likely be the best solution.
kh79, I think a lot would depend on your school, what the cohort of students is like, and on the teacher.

#152 Avidreader

Posted 23 January 2014 - 06:51 PM

My DD started FYOS at the level you described. Her school initially gave her readers but soon realised she was beyond readers. We then has two terms of her reading whatever she wanted (which was chapter books) individually with the teacher. After we agreed that she had settled into school enough she went to year 1 to join with a group of year 1 gifted readers. As the school does the literacy block at the same time this worked well.

Dd was very popular for her reading skills! The other kids saw her almost like another teacher and would get her to read things for them and assist them with spelling etc. I went into the classroom once a fortnight and so many kids came up to tell me how smart DD was- there was absolutely no resentment. In fact one little boy came up to me to earnestly declare that he was second!

Another thing we find was ask and get permission for DD to do the PRC. She completed it at the year 3-4 level and it gave some structure to those early days. She was very proud to be the only kid in kindy to complete it.