Advice needed

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Kkiimm

Posted 09 November 2015 - 01:38 PM

Hi guys, I've never done this before so please be kind! I just felt I needed someone to reach out to as perhaps someone else has gone through what I'm going through. I apologise in advance if this is a long post!

I have been with my partner for 5 going on 6 years now and I suffer from Endometriosis. As I am unable to conceive naturally my partner and I have decided to go for IVF. Here is my issue:

My partner has been struggling with depression for years and has only just recently got the help he has been needing. He has just recently decided that he is going to go to school for study to get his life back on track and I fully support him and his goals. The issue with him studying full time is that the course is 5 years and he will not be seeking employment throughout. Currently I work casually and have just found out I am losing my job in 6 months due to it relocating. My partner is currently not employed. The decision to go to through IVF was made a year ago and if we go ahead, it will be in about a month. My worry is that with we will be financially in a somewhat difficult place for the next five years, let alone adding a child into the picture. I have wanted to start a family for years although as my partner has been depressed we did not think it would be the right time. The IVF treatment has been paid for we are just waiting for the go ahead.

I am very concerned that as my partner has told me he wants to just focus on his schooling and not work between, so he can work on achieving his goal to have a career and support the family properly at the end.

I really would love to start a family! Although I am concerned about losing my job in the next few months and then not being able to work with having a bub for a good year (including end of pregnancy and maternity leave).