CCC asking for minimum $$ amount for staff Xmas gifts?

• Please log in to reply
95 replies to this topic

#1 KoalaTeeTime

Posted 30 November 2015 - 12:17 PM

Hi all,

Just wanted to gauge whether or not this sounds normal for child care. It's my first time having a child in care so I'm not sure of the protocols/done thing.

My son and I love the centre he's in and the carers there- he only goes 2 days a week but I never have to worry about him and they are very good. It's a not for profit/government run centre near my work.

Anyway, the director emailed the parents saying that in lieu of all the parents getting individual gifts for the staff she would organise a collection and buy them something herself. I generally like that idea because it means a bigger/more substantial gift and she knows them better than I do anyway.

But in the email (and all subsequent reminders) she's said if we choose to contribute, it's a $40 *minimum*.

I really want to show my appreciation of the great work they do but $40 is a bit out of my budget now (Xmas, car rego and insurance, huge unforeseen water bill, etc).

Is it normal to ask for a minimum for the staff gift collection?

#2 Therese

Posted 30 November 2015 - 12:19 PM

I would not be giving $40 in your situation. I am not a big fan of being told how much is appropriate to give for a gift and especially for a Christmas present.

#3 Bam1

I think it's a good idea but no minimum should be specified. I would just pay what you can afford and what you feel is appropriate.

#4 Lucrezia Bauble

I think a "minimum" is not quite fair - maybe "as a guide people usually contribute around $x" - so you can gauge whether you are being completely ott or not quite in the ballpark. In any event, I think you should just give what you can afford.

#5 ~Jolly_F~

Posted 30 November 2015 - 12:20 PM