Help with tax file numbers

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Funwith4

Posted 13 July 2016 - 05:19 PM

Hi, we own a small hospitality business. We've only had it for 7 months. After we had owned the business for just a few weeks, two of the staff members quit (it didn't end on great terms).

I've text them to ask for their TFN so I can complete their group certificates. One hasn't replied. The other has told me he doesn't need to give me his TFN because he earned less than a certain amount. Is this correct or is he being difficult? I'm a bit out of my depth with the book-work, I've never done the books for a business before so am learning as I go.

#2 Coffeegirl

Posted 13 July 2016 - 05:32 PM

You should have gotten their TFNs before you did their first pay.  If not, the tax office could have you withhold 47.5% (from memory) of their income.   Did you deduct any tax from their wages before you paid them?

They need to complete a TFN declaration and send it to you so you can lodge with the ATO.  If not you have technically paid them 'cash in hand'.  I'm guessing the onus would be on them to declare the tax they paid.  

And if he earned 'under the threshold' and you deducted tax from his pay, then he's an idiot not to give you the tax file number as he could get the tax he did pay refunded.

#3 Funwith4

Posted 13 July 2016 - 05:37 PM

I did ask for his TFN early on but it was never given to me and I didn't chase it up. These are both high school kids who only worked about 10 hours a week.

My DH did the pays, I'm not sure whether he withheld tax but I assume not. I'll ask him when he's home.

#4 JustBeige

Posted 13 July 2016 - 05:38 PM

Their TFNs should have been on file when you got the business - if they came 'with' the business.

tbh, I would speak to your accountant or the ATO and get their advice.