Business, sole trader, company - tax?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 BadCat

Posted 23 October 2016 - 09:14 AM

I expect the answer to this is readily available somewhere on the tax website, but I'm going to ask you guys anyway.

I am currently a sole trader.  I'm making virtually no money but about to launch something that will hopefully improve that situation.

My question is about tax.

As a sole trader I believe that whatever I make as a net profit on my business is added to my employment income (gov dept) and taxed at my marginal rate, right?

What I don't know is how profits are treated if I was to become a company.  I know you pay company tax but that's where I get fuzzy.  So you pay something like 30% company tax on your profits, and then I have to pay myself and pay tax on my earning?  Or do I pay myself as an employee and then pay company tax on whatever stays in the company?  But since it's only me I'd just pay myself the entire profit anyway, so how does that work?  I can't get my head around it, so if anyone can explain it clearly for me that would be lovely.

#2 blondie82

Posted 23 October 2016 - 09:23 AM

The 30% company tax gets treated/applied after all expenses are accounted for - including any depreciating expenses. So effectively you could setup as a company and pay yourself all of the profits so the company itself doesn't actually make any money. You would also need to take into account all the additional fees and rules with having a company - ASIC fees and the like.

What about just sticking with your personal ABN, build up your business first and then reassess when necessary?

#3 BadCat

Posted 23 October 2016 - 09:36 AM