Prayer in the Handmaid's Tale

2 replies to this topic

#1 Datrys

Posted 18 May 2018 - 12:03 PM

This blog article floated through my inbox, and I thought some here might be interested: http://www.ethos.org...rayer-in-gilead

I haven't been watching the series (although I studied the book) so can't comment in detail, myself, but found the analysis interesting.

#2 PooksLikeChristmas

Posted 18 May 2018 - 01:11 PM

Spoiler alert for the most recent episode!!!

In the last episode, a painful and brutal death in the Gilead concentration camp is transformed by a female Rabbi performing a marriage, and then funeral service, for the dying woman and her female love. One character reacts angrily saying, this doesn’t change the reality, dressing it up doesn’t change the fact that this is a slaughterhouse. And the other character says in her childlike way, but cows don’t get married. For me, perhaps the most powerful moment in a brilliant series- then contrasted with a mass arranged marriage of child brides. What makes us human, what can ritual and faith bring to us, what is real?

#3 ContentedFleur

Posted 18 May 2018 - 01:19 PM

That was an amazing article, thank you for linking it!

I was reminded of an analysis of the horrible Left Behind series, where the author (a Christian himself) talked about how even though the authors had tried to keep Jesus out of the narrative (in favour of Manly Men) He kept putting Himself back in- there He was in the person of a bloke helping a distraught woman, there again with a lady who had a soup kitchen going, in random acts of kindness, in comfort offered, there He was.