Allergy to beef but not beef sausages?

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 Kellykopter

Posted 20 June 2018 - 03:11 PM

Hi guys, my bf brings his two kids over often and I am stumped why one can eat beef sausages but not beef.  So couldn't have a slice of roast beef or steak.

He has a bunch of other allergies - egg dairy nuts seeds etc.

Im studying nutrition and I like to cook so I'm trying to find meals that give variety and more goodness than fatty salty preservative filled sausages.  

Thanks in advance xx

Edited by Kellykopter, 20 June 2018 - 03:12 PM.

#2 Greatmum

Posted 20 June 2018 - 03:14 PM

There probably isn't any beef actually in them??

#3 22Fruitmincepies

Posted 20 June 2018 - 03:18 PM

Try chicken, pork, lamb or fish? There are a lot of options other than beef and beef sausages. But I’d say there is nothing wrong with sausages from time to time, especially if it means a child will eat well, but not every night.

#4 No Drama Please

Posted 20 June 2018 - 03:21 PM

Is it every sausage is okay or just one brand?

#5 ~Jolly_F~

Posted 20 June 2018 - 03:28 PM

There are plenty of other options than beef. Even non meat ones!!

But the sausages are probably just beef flavoured bits and pieces leftovers :lol:

That’s said I don’t mind a sausage and we have them a couple of times a week, worst things you could feed a kid.

Don’t become one of those I studied nutrition I need to lecture everyone on food choices people..

#6 IamOzgirl

Posted 20 June 2018 - 03:30 PM

at miniumum it is probably a ratio thing. ie more filler or non beef ingredients in the sausage.

#7 MooGuru

Posted 20 June 2018 - 03:57 PM

Back ages ago sausages only needed to contain 8% (?) Beef to be labelled beef sausages.
Also with egg the allergy causing whatever is reduced by cooking so I can have a severe reaction to pancakes/ or sunny side up eggs etc but can eat a cake thats been baked at 200 for an hour. I don't know if the same applies for beef.