Jump to content

Clueless, please help.

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 PaddyCats

Posted 12 September 2018 - 10:27 PM

Hi guys,

My step daughter is now vegan and I’ve been trying to look at some options for her before she comes to us again, I’ve come across this table spread at woolies from what I can tell there is no dairy in the ingredients, but is there something I’m missing?
Please no nasty comments, I’m just trying to work it out for her :)

Vegetable Oil (Canola Oil, Hydrogenated Palm kernel Oil, Hydrogenated Palm Oil), Water, Salt, Emulsifiers (471, 322 From Soy), Preservative (202), Acidity Regulator (330), Vitamins A and D, Natural Colour (160a), Natural Flavour

Thanks xx

#2 Riotproof

Posted 12 September 2018 - 10:30 PM

Does it say suitable for vegans on it? I think it is.

Nuttelex definitely is, if that helps.

#3 PaddyCats

Posted 12 September 2018 - 10:38 PM

No doesn’t say anything on it, does say ‘allergens, soyabeans’. But that’s all.

#4 Riotproof

Posted 12 September 2018 - 10:46 PM

The natural flavour could contain milk products, but it may not. To be completely sure, you'd need to contact them.

The "contains" element of the label is only voluntary, they don't have to disclose animal products as anallergen there. I've also seen a lot of undeclared allergen recalls from Woolies, so i’d be inclined to check.

It may just be easier to buy Nuttelex who do have a vegan claim on their products.

Lovely of you to be so supportive.

Edited by Riotproof, 13 September 2018 - 07:39 AM.

#5 cira

Posted 12 September 2018 - 11:35 PM

I hate to complicate things but I'd have ethical concerns about eating palm oil as the palm oil plantations are destroying rainforest habitats.

My daughter has recently decided to become vegetarian for ethical reasons and we are having many conversations in our house about sustainability, consumerism, animal rights and nutrition.

#6 MooGuru

Posted 12 September 2018 - 11:51 PM

Nuttelex is the go to all the vegos and vegans I know use.

#7 babybug15

Posted 13 September 2018 - 12:02 AM

The vitamin D might not be vegan, sometimes it's derived from lanolin. Also the natural flavours may or may not be. If you can say the brand that might be more useful?

I would recommend to just use Nuttlex. It's widely available and not particularly expensive, great for baking, spreads, roux etc. I use it because we are dairy free (& 20-30 years ago it was the only dairy free spread available), but having vegan friends I know it's ok for them.

The coconut oil one is palm oil free, if that's a concern, though they claim to use "certified sustainable" palm oil (which I know is also problematic for some people).

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


Top 5 Viewed Articles

Essential Baby and Essential Kids is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, kids entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums or the Essential Kids forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. Essential Kids features a range of free printable worksheets for kids from preschool years through to primary school years. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby and Essential Kids.