2019 Anyone studying this year?

• Please log in to reply
178 replies to this topic

#51 Staying Strange

Posted 07 March 2019 - 09:49 AM

View PostBeancat, on 06 March 2019 - 09:43 AM, said:

I think I want to do a counseling degree.  I already have quals in commerce and education and have been working for 20 years on policy.  While it pays well and its interesting I feel my skills would be better suited to counseling but not sure how to transition across

Beancat I'm a social worker - and do a surprising amount of counselling for someone who was "never going to do counselling!"  ... what sorts of areas interest you? If you do want to go into counselling just be mindful that to be a medicare provider you need to be a psych or social worker (for the mental health plans).

Also, think about what populations you want to service and if working for yourself or someone else (eg I work in a hospital) interests you. Eg if you want to work with disadvantaged people, but want to go into private practise how are they going to access you? As fees will need to be enough to cover costs and provide you with enough to live on etc.

I'm more than happy to chat more if you like.

View Postmayahlb, on 06 March 2019 - 10:05 AM, said:

Well done staying strange. I’m so glad my masters is completely by coursework. I don’t think I could do a masters by research or even big project work. I always get stuck trying to find an idea.

I know what you mean - before starting in my current role, I always struggled with ideas. I actually chose a course that is masters by coursework but since starting my current job I  have enough ideas for a dozen projects so thought I'd bite the bullet and just do a small one (the research project I've opted to do is equivalent to 2 subjects, rather than my whole masters, and the rest of it coursework).