Does pregnancy management fee get charged by in-hospital private group practice (public or private H

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Meli-melo

Posted 28 January 2019 - 09:32 AM

Hello,

I know lots of threads talk about going private or public, but I just want to know more aboiut pregnancy management fee (PMF). I live in Adelaide.
I'm aware that if we go to see a private obstetrician in their own private clinic throughout the pregnancy, PMF is payable at 20-28 weeks basically that's their on call and turning up to the birth fee, only a small portion gets reimbursed by Medicare and wont be covered by the private health insurance. I can't give them a call until tomorrow and curious to know other people's experiences please as this is my first time going private and this is my third pregnancy.
My questions :

1. If we're seeing obstetrician throughout the pregnancy in a public hospital o&g private group practice (i think they're seeing public patient too through the womens outpatient), do we still have to pay for PMF? Because basically PMF is an on call and booking right if we simplify it?! But if we get into admission as a private patient for the birth, they can't guarantee that DR of your choice (the one we're seeing at the private group practice) would be available at birth, there's a note says:
Note: Where your doctor of choice is unavailable, you can still elect a private admission in our hospital and be treated by the doctor on duty.
So I thought they shouldn't charge for PMF?? As there's no guarantee that the obs that we've been seeing in the private group practice would be the one that delivers the baby. Or private group practice in public hospital works normally like their own, out of hospital private obs clinic and the admission at childbirth as a private patient in the public hospital is completely unrelated??