Women in IT

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Seven of Nine

Posted 22 February 2019 - 07:28 PM

I'm thinking of retraining and going into IT and I'd love to hear from other women who work in the area.

I learnt to code in python last year and I fell in love with finding solutions to technical problems. I've always been maths/science/logic inclined, but never into tech. I have a bachelor's degree in an unrelated field and I've been working on and off in various local people based roles since having my children.

I'm a mother to a large family and we live well over an hour from the CBD. Am I crazy for considering IT? Is part-time work even possible? Is everything good based in the CBD? IT seems to be a man's world at the moment.

Edited by Seven of Nine, 22 February 2019 - 07:29 PM.

#2 ButterflyNow

Posted 22 February 2019 - 07:40 PM

Hi - how technical were you thinking? I am working currently as a data scientist, I use python a fair bit, and use a fair bit of maths/stats. It's a great mix of technical work plus getting to work with non technical stakeholders to solve their problems.i really love it.
I find it is male dominated overall but their are pockets where it isn't.
I actually currently work part time , I find it works well for that because my work is quite independent.
Feel free to pm me if you would like more info.

#3 Contrebasse

Posted 22 February 2019 - 07:52 PM

I work 4 days a week in a digital product/strategy role at a tech firm. I love it! Tech companies (think Seek, REA, Atlassian) are often pretty lifestyle oriented - casual clothes, flexible hours, working from home etc.

They tend to hire people with at least 2-3 years’ experience though - so you’d probably need to establish your skills first (not sure how easy it is to get jobs as a mature age graduate).

#4 lizzzard

Posted 22 February 2019 - 07:54 PM