Breastfeeding vs exclusive expressing

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Natasha123

Posted 27 March 2019 - 07:21 AM

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting a question to the forum, although I read a lot from other people's similar issues. I have a 3.5 month old and breastfeeding did not get off to a good start (painful, cracked nipples, poor latching, sleepy baby). DS would take a long time to feed, was sleepy and despite my and DH's best efforts to keep him at active nursing, (breast compressions, tickling feet and hands, stroking cheek etc,), he would take a long time at each breastfeed, sucking only intermittently and not much swallowing.

After losing too much weight in the first week, midwives advised to express, or if not enough EBM, to top up with formula. I built up a decent supply using the pump (use formula about 10% of feeds), and despite my best efforts to breast feed (no longer painful), of course what has happened is a bottle preference for fast flow. I was beginning to lose supply and spent so much time pumping, I was at the end of my tether until I purchased a hospital grade double pump last week, which has helped.

I went to the breastfeeding clinic at my local child health centre, where the only advice I received was to keep doing what I am doing (expressing), with a suggestion to buy a supplementer/supply line (I looked into it and was not inspired as it is another gadget to clean - I am already exhausted with triple feeding). The only other suggestion was to get a Pigeon peristaltic teat (we did) to try to encourage an easier switch to breastfeeding, but for our DS it led to him guzzling down 150ml of EBM in under 2 minutes (we discarded the idea).