Learning an instrument

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 Conqueredmountains

Posted 14 May 2019 - 04:58 PM

Hi, my eleven year old daughter (year 5) has been in the school band since she was in year 3.

She has always loved band and her private weekly lesson.

This year she is in concert band and lately she has started being really reluctant to do it any more. I have paid for the year! What should I do? Let her quit? Force her to finish the year? I have no musical background so I’m wondering if I’m meant to push her through it a bit until she experiences the joy of music again or just give up and be happy to be done with the expense of learning an instrument.

She is not enjoying band any more simply because a couple of her friends quit and now her band time is during school and she can see the rest of her class doing fun fitness games outside.

Any advice?

#2 halcyondays

Posted 14 May 2019 - 05:23 PM

Can she continue private lessons and not do band? She’s reached an age where friendships and keeping with her peer group is very important so I’d let her miss band as long as she continues private lessons and practices at home.

#3 jayskette

Posted 14 May 2019 - 07:21 PM

learning something is just as much about sticking with it when things go bad or if the results are not forthcoming.

#4 ERipley

Posted 14 May 2019 - 07:29 PM

View Posthalcyondays, on 14 May 2019 - 05:23 PM, said:

Can she continue private lessons and not do band? She’s reached an age where friendships and keeping with her peer group is very important so I’d let her miss band as long as she continues private lessons and practices at home.

I agree with this.

#5 robhat

Posted 14 May 2019 - 07:34 PM

I think it depends on what you want to teach your child and why she's learning an instrument.