Cake decorating advice

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 ABabyPlease

Posted 18 May 2019 - 01:50 PM

Hi, I'd like to make this cake for an adults party. I am wondering what type of icing that is and any tips on technique. I'm not actually on Pinterest, I just found the photo on an image search.

https://www.pinteres...58582533919992/

Oh, I'm open to any other chocolate decorating ideas.
Thanks

#2 *Nasty*Squeekums*

Posted 18 May 2019 - 02:17 PM

Pretty cake
I'm not a professional at all but this be my plan after watching so many hours of cake wars, cake masters and all that.

I'd use buttercream, I'd assume thats what it is, best moulding that style, will set back up and hold shape once chilled.
Ice it up as normal.
Then there a tool you can get, think like a pastry cutter but it has a zigzag edge. Gotta sit cake on a lazy Susan, hold the tool at starting point and don't move it, use a consistent but not fast turn and turn the cake the cake  

Id grate or shave chocolate over whole thing too. Extra chocolate never hurt anyone

I'd also consider a skewer Inside the cake to make sure it don't slip or move

#3 cstar

Posted 18 May 2019 - 02:22 PM

Agree with above pp

This website is great, has recipes and lots of tips

https://livforcake.com

#4 lizzzard

Posted 18 May 2019 - 02:42 PM

I am guessing it’s piped buttercream - It would take ages, but I’d use a piping bag with a smooth round nozzle, and pipe rings of ice if close against each other, round and round the cake.

I’m also not an e expert though!

#5 Tinky Winky Woo

Posted 18 May 2019 - 02:51 PM

I do cakes and I would use ganache for this.  To get the ruffle/ridge effect, I would either pipe the icing starting at the top of the cake, using a nozzle that looks a bit like a tear drop, widest edge facing toward me.  Or you can buy a tool that will give a similar effect but without the stand out ruffle feature.