Help me plan my next move

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Green Gummy Bear

Posted 26 July 2019 - 02:22 PM

I have a degree in Health Sciences, I did this because I needed to study externally, and I have an interest in health. All good, except it's quite a generic degree and there really aren't the jobs out there with no experience to back it up.

Which means I'm going to have to do some postgrad study. I'm particularly interested in people's experiences, and my ideal line of work would be counselling, social support, that kind of thing. I'm considering Masters in Counselling, but are there still plenty of counselling jobs out there? Social work is off the table, as I can't do so lengthy unpaid placements with current situation.

Masters of public health looks appealing, but it again seems quite vague.

Are there other avenues I should explore? What have others gone on to do with a health sciences degree?

#2 BusbyWilkes

Posted 26 July 2019 - 02:30 PM

Possibly 2 year masters in OT or Speech Path? Lots of jobs usually (perhaps dependent on where you live), full or part time hours, building relationships with clients/patients. There will be praccomponents, but no where near as long as the Social Work pracs are.

#3 Thursday

Posted 26 July 2019 - 03:30 PM

View PostBusbyWilkes, on 26 July 2019 - 02:30 PM, said:

Possibly 2 year masters in OT or Speech Path? Lots of jobs usually (perhaps dependent on where you live), full or part time hours, building relationships with clients/patients. There will be praccomponents, but no where near as long as the Social Work pracs are.

I think it would be the same amount of prac? Most allied health type qualifications need 1000 hours of practical experience. There might be more flexibility about how to get those hours though, possibly you could do projects rather than 40-hour-week work placements.

#4 Green Gummy Bear

Posted 26 July 2019 - 05:03 PM

View PostThursday, on 26 July 2019 - 03:30 PM, said: