10yo inappropriate attire

• Please log in to reply
116 replies to this topic

#51 AuntyJJJ

Posted 05 August 2019 - 12:32 PM

This is an odd perspective but when I was a teenager back in the mid 90s I would go to work wearing a petticoat. Literally just a petticoat and an old shirt over the top. I worked as a Doctors receptionist.

Sometimes he or his wife especially would look at me funny but it never occurred to me my clothes were inappropriate.

My skirts when I was age 14-20 were the size of handkerchiefs.

I would have LOVED my mum to gently explain the concept of professional attire at work.

I would have LOVED her to take me shopping at Target buy me some basic things - she stopped buying me clothes after age 9, and that's half the reason I wore scrappy things, I only bought $5 dresses at glebe markets!

Once I was 17 walking out to a party and my parents made me take off my see through lace top with no underwear on and put on some underwear...I honestly had no idea.

Remember what it's like to be a little kid, or teenager, you are completely unaware of how other people see you. It's about safety.

#52 BornToLove

Posted 05 August 2019 - 12:34 PM

DD is 9 and clothing can be a source of difficulty. Complicating matters is that she has some sensory issues with clothing so it can be hard to balance those needs with sensible clothing choices that make us both happy.

We talk about the importance of dressing for the occasion. I what I like to wear (jeans) doesn’t always work for the activity I’m doing (corporate office job, working out etc) so it’s important to be dressed appropriately in that regard. Things like safety (sun smart clothes, closed toe shoes etc) and overall image also play roles in what we wear.