To say something or not?

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 IamtheMumma

Posted 12 August 2019 - 11:05 AM

You've started a new course. You are paying 6K of your own money to do the course. During the first module, you find a number of errors. You know they are errors as your previous career was in a related field and you worked under the standards the course information is referencing.

Do you say something to the people who run the course? They are the organisation/association for the career.

#2 JBH

Posted 12 August 2019 - 11:10 AM

I would say something, but not by way of “correction”.

For example, start by saying “dear course coordinator, I am a student enrolled in ...  As I review the course outline, there are some questions that arise and I was hoping you might be able to assist me in reconciling my understanding against the information provided.” Then go on to cite what they have said, and set out your understanding. See what they come back with.

#3 AliasMater

Posted 12 August 2019 - 11:13 AM

This was me when doing my degree. I found so many errors and I would often call them out. I did it in the nicest possible way, privately, and as an 'I think there is an error, or 'is this an error', not 'that is an error' - which I knew it was but also knew my place as a student.

It never really worked well for me. Academics don't like to be told they're wrong or have their mistakes pointed out to them by undergrads.

In the end, unless I lost marks for it, I let it go.

#4 Chamomile

Posted 12 August 2019 - 11:17 AM

Could be helpful to have a paper trail in case you decide to leave the course and ask for a refund.

#5 Gonzy

Posted 12 August 2019 - 01:20 PM

What kind of errors are we talking about?

Grammatical, sentence structure, punctuation etc or actual errors of facts or information which could substantially alter the outcome of learning and grades?