Face book settings

16 replies to this topic

#1 My4beautifulboys

Posted 12 September 2019 - 07:44 AM

For any of those that are familiar with Facebook and settings. I’m a member in a sporting club and a photo of me winning a prize was posted on Fb. Some of my friends, family have seen the post and commented on it. Even though they arnt members of the group. How do a stop it from being public. Is it the clubs settings or mine that need adjusting?

#2 IamtheMumma

Posted 12 September 2019 - 07:50 AM

It is the club setting. You can ask them to change their settings for the photo (and any future ones of you).

#3 meljbau

Posted 12 September 2019 - 07:53 AM

Just ask the club to untag you in the photo and not link your name in the comments. That's the only way I can think of that they would have seen you, but I'm not an expert on FB. Someone else may know more.

Edited by meljbau, 12 September 2019 - 07:53 AM.

#4 laridae

Posted 12 September 2019 - 07:53 AM

They've posted it publicly and tagged you by the sounds of things? Just ask them not to post pictures of you. Or if you just don't want your friends seeing it, ask them not to tag you.
Possibly it appears in your timeline if you've allowed others to do that. I changed mine so no one can post in my timeline without approval.

Edited by laridae, 12 September 2019 - 07:54 AM.

#5 Nasty Poobah

Posted 12 September 2019 - 07:54 AM

It'll be a public group and that's why they can see it.  Has the group tagged you in the photo? That would put it in your friends' newsfeed. You should be able to remove the tag.

Posts in closed (soon to be called private) groups can only be seen by the members of that group. If your sports club's group is to advertise the group then it'll be public. If it's for internal interaction between members then it'll generally be closed.

If it's actually a Facebook page rather than a group then it will be public.

It's not your settings.

#6 My4beautifulboys

Posted 12 September 2019 - 08:06 AM