Studying and part time work

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 steppingonlego

Posted 10 October 2019 - 02:18 PM

I received an email that I have been accepted into the course I wanted next year. Yay

I plan to approach my current t place of work and see if they will let me do 2 days a week but I am prepared for a no.

Just wondering what kind of jobs people have done with full time study (study is 2.5-3 days a week at TAFE)

I used to be a barista so thinking of doing a refresher course and applying for some cafes

#2 ~Jolly_F~

Posted 10 October 2019 - 02:26 PM

I work as a part time admin assistant, 3 days a week, in the same area as my study.

My boss is great. I can change my days depending on my study requirements and what days I need to be at uni.

Some semesters I study full time, some I do part time - depends on what’s going on at home and how my mental space is.

Edited by ~J_F~, 10 October 2019 - 02:30 PM.

#3 steppingonlego

Posted 10 October 2019 - 02:37 PM

yes my sister did something similar. Not sure if I can line that up but I am looking in the area.

#4 Babetty

Posted 10 October 2019 - 03:17 PM

Can you let us know your area of study - and whether it's completely different to what you do now? The EB hive Mind might have ideas of part time jobs that would complement your studies

#5 steppingonlego

Posted 10 October 2019 - 03:17 PM

It is a diploma of community services

I am not sure what days or hours the study is as yet

#6 MayaTheGrinch

Posted 10 October 2019 - 03:38 PM

It’s really dependant on what the study is and how intensive it is and also sometimes what unit you are doing. I completed a bachelor while working part time. Some semesters were fine and others I was soooooo stressed.

I’m currently doing a Masters. Last semester was fine. Wasn’t stressed really and juggled everything fine. This semester? Ye gods I’m totally over it and have struggled for a number of reasons.

#7 Moukmouk

Posted 10 October 2019 - 03:40 PM