Vacuum recommendations- floorboards

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Wolf87

Posted 21 October 2019 - 09:27 PM

Good evening!

Boring thread alert - see title. We have had a Shark vacuum for the last million years, but it’s on its last legs. We bought it when we were in a fully carpeted house, and have no complaints!

But now we have no carpet in the entire house. We have 3 cats so lots of cat hair and cat litter about. Any recs for a vacuum good for floorboards?
Every spring we also get fleas (despite the cats being treated), it’s so weird it’s not an issue in summer, just when the weather starts heating up they come out of the woodwork. So at the minute we are vacuuming daily, but usually only about once a week.

Throw me your suggestions! Thanks :)

#2 SeaPrincess

Posted 21 October 2019 - 09:50 PM

I have a Roomba and it does the living areas every day. We keep the bedroom doors shut to keep the cat off the beds, so I put it in each bedroom about once a week. I have a cheap proper vacuum, but I don’t use it often.

We’ve been fortunate that neither our cat nor our dog have had fleas.

#3 can'tstayaway

Posted 22 October 2019 - 09:00 AM

We have timber floorboards through the house bar bathrooms and laundry. I also have a large shedding dog.

We have a Roomba that gets a daily workout. We also have a Dyson stick that’s handy for spot cleans and zooming around the kitchen and dining area after meals. And I have 2 Miele barrel vacs - ones upstairs and ones downstairs. They don’t get as much use for the floors themselves. They get pulled out for vacuuming cobwebs, skirting boards, car, couch, air con filters etc.

I could make do with just one of any of the above but the combination works well for us.

Fleas breed in the garden so I’d get the yard treated to try and break the breeding cycle.

#4 born.a.girl

Posted 22 October 2019 - 09:19 AM

Are you in an old house?