Inspiration required

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 BRB

Posted 21 November 2019 - 09:03 AM

With increased diet restrictions In our household for various health reasons I’ve lost my motivation to cook. I feel overwhelmed with the restrictions. I’m not good at adapting recipes and my old favourite recipes are not “allowed” anymore.
Please EB any ideas for no diary, no tomato, gluten free, no garlic or onion (garlic oil permitted for flavour and must be low salt.
Preferably not spicy for the kids.
Thank you in advance

#2 yule_maiden

Posted 21 November 2019 - 09:48 AM

Checking my friendly food recipe book for you now.

#3 yule_maiden

Posted 21 November 2019 - 09:49 AM

Are chives ok? GF corn and chive muffins, can add bacon if you're ok with it?

Eta: what are your usual recipes that you're over?

Edited by spr_maiden, 21 November 2019 - 09:54 AM.

#4 Living Type

Posted 21 November 2019 - 09:57 AM

Sounds similar to the autoimmune protocol with those restrictions. If you google AIP recipes you should find some that don’t require any adapting

Edited by Living Type, 21 November 2019 - 09:58 AM.

#5 Falala-llyjonk

Posted 21 November 2019 - 11:58 AM

That sounds really tough, OP.

Best I can think of are some good hearty soups. I've been making my own meat stocks lately (just boiling bones mostly) and they are quite tasty without adding much salt.

Hmmmm... Sine other thoughts:
Steamed fish and vegetable parcels (put fish fillet, lemon slice,  plus assortment of veggies in foil and bake/steam.

Shish kebabs with chips/sweet potato chips. Food on sticks is somehow tastier than non stick food.

Edited by Fillyjonk, 21 November 2019 - 12:01 PM.

#6 yule_maiden

Posted 21 November 2019 - 12:29 PM

GF potato and leek pizza - could use garlic oil instead of pizza sauce,  and safe herbs on top to give flavour.

Fish patties.
Can you tolerate peanut or nut paste? Gado gado with safe veggies and tofu or egg.