Do you get micromanaged at work?

• Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#1 anon039

Posted 06 December 2019 - 03:54 PM

I’m a registered nurse. This means that I’ve got a degree and can practice in that role and it’s expected that I know what I’m doing, especially after many years of working.
In the last few years I’ve noticed more and more a trend that I feel nurses as a whole are being micromanaged. I’m sure this happens across the board in many other professions.
Do you think this contributes to burnout and makes an employee feel undervalued and deameaned? I certainly do to the point of thinking about a complete career change.
Interested in what others think.

#2 Redhead43

Posted 06 December 2019 - 04:09 PM

I think I do a bit, especially by my manager who isn’t even a nurse so has no idea of clinical issues.
I just ”smile and wave” as it’s my registration at the end of the day, and I won’t do anything to jeopardise that.

However, I was a manager myself a few years ago and definitely didn’t micromanage the RNs. Maybe I should have as I wrongly assumed that some of them had at least basic skills and knowledge, which turned out not to be the case for a few staff.

It doesn’t make me want to change my career though, I think that you would get these people in all walks of life.

#3 VVV

Posted 06 December 2019 - 04:24 PM

Micromanaging is a form of bullying

#4 qak

Posted 06 December 2019 - 04:31 PM

Different industry, but I got micromanaged for a couple of weeks when my work was sold.  I turned around and said:
- I have been doing this work for over 20 years
- I don't need to be told step by step what to do
- I don't need reminding to follow up people
- and I'm not going to harrass a client by following them up every single day because they will get the sh*ts (unsaid: like I do!)

They guy wanted to control everybody; keep them down by not "letting" junior staff learn anything. I hate that kind of attitude, it stinks.