Kindle and Public Libraries

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 steppingonlego

Posted 27 December 2019 - 11:45 AM

I am completely new to ereaders. I got a Kindle for Christmas (I think a paper white)

I have been trying to work out how to download a borrowed library ebook onto my Kindle and I am afraid that it seems I can't? That Kindle doesn't work with Adobe Digital Editions which seems to be the platform that my local library uses.

Devastated to say the least. I am a voracious reader and can't afford to purchase books at the rate I go through them.

Does anyone have any tips or advice for me?

Thanks

#2 Riotproof

Posted 27 December 2019 - 11:47 AM

Go and search for free kindle books on amazon.

They get updated a lot. They also often have books for 99c etc I think.

#3 FuzzyChocolateToes

Posted 27 December 2019 - 11:52 AM

Is it too late to swap it for a Kobo?

#4 ponky

Posted 27 December 2019 - 11:52 AM

I do believe Kindles are not compatible with Borrowbox or Overdrive (Libby) in Australia.  You can download the apps onto a phone or ipad or tablet.

I have a Kobo Clara and that works with Adobe Digital.

Sorry

#5 steppingonlego

Posted 27 December 2019 - 11:54 AM

Thanks wow that's a shame. Yes it is too late I have already purchased and read a book on it.

Will do a search for free books as well thanks

#6 Mollyksy

Posted 27 December 2019 - 12:02 PM

On my old kindle I could (somewhat) read PDFs if I loaded them the old fashioned way via the USB cable. There are a tonne of free PDF books online if the newer kindles can still do that.

I found the set of 3 investigators books (Jupiter Jones, Bob and Pete I think they were) on PDF even years ago. Some story about the heirs and a contested copyright and them wanting to make it free.

And here you go! https://freebooklove...ors-be.html?m=1

#7 IamzFeralz

Posted 27 December 2019 - 12:02 PM