I think my dog is sick

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 just roses

Posted 27 January 2020 - 07:42 PM

I’m trying not to be a helicopter dog parent, but I’m also unsure about what point I should take my boy to the vet, or just wait and hope he just bounces back.

He hasn’t eaten all day and hasn’t drunk a lot. He’s been outside only for a wee or two and has spent all day sleeping/lying around/looking sad. He has a temperature and seems to have an elevated heart rate. No obvious pain anywhere.

When DH asked him if he’d like a walk, he didn’t react at all, which is very out of character.

What would you do? Wait and see? Take him to the vet? I don’t feel experienced enough with dogs to know whether this is just a bug or something and he’ll bounce back.

#2 Froyohoho

Posted 27 January 2020 - 07:45 PM

If he's that flat I'd take him to the vet. I hope he's better soon.

#3 rubyskye

Posted 27 January 2020 - 07:46 PM

I would take my dog to the vet (I'm a Vet Nurse myself). Best to get him checked out.

#4 just roses

Posted 27 January 2020 - 07:48 PM

Tonight, do you think? Or would you wait until morning?

#5 Froyohoho

Posted 27 January 2020 - 07:49 PM

As soon as is practical.

#6 Anon wife

Posted 27 January 2020 - 07:52 PM

I’m in no way qualified to answer but could you possibly try giving him some boiled chicken with plain rice & see if he’s hungry now? If he’s not I’d probably take him in for a check or even call your local vet for advice?

#7 just roses

Posted 27 January 2020 - 10:15 PM

Thanks all. He vomited twice soon after I posted this so I took him to the 24hr vet and they ran some tests. He’s been hyperventilating (carbon dioxide in blood, I think the vet said) and is dehydrated. So he’s been admitted on an IV and we’ll see what the morning brings.

#8 BECZ

Posted 27 January 2020 - 10:25 PM

Sounds worrying just roses.  
Hope he improves overnight!

#9 Anon wife

Posted 27 January 2020 - 10:30 PM