Opinions needed- Work, study or both?

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 DontPokeTheBearMum

Posted 05 February 2020 - 09:43 AM

I have been a SAHM for 12 years. An opportunity for work in my previous field has become available to me, but I have also applied to do a full time university degree this year. I have three children, (13, 11, 5) all of them with special needs but who are well managed currently and in good schools where they are comfortable. My husband works from home 90% of the time but was looking to change jobs this year. He is able to take on a lot of the kid care. I also have a lot of help from my mother if I need it.

My previous work is as a support worker. My degree is Social work. I have previously completed 18 months of the degree but deferred after giving birth to my third child.

In these circumstances, would you work, study, or try and do both?

#2 Tokra

Posted 05 February 2020 - 09:45 AM

Go for gold girl - start with all and if it becomes too much, then cut back where you need to.

Back yourself because you are important too!

#3 Freddie'sMum

Posted 05 February 2020 - 10:25 AM

Wow OP - that's a lot going on.

I agree with Tokra - have a go, see what you can realistically do / handle and take it from there.  Always make sure you can step back if it becomes too much (less study, more help with the kids, whatever you need to do).

Good luck !

#4 DirtyStreetPie

Posted 05 February 2020 - 10:37 AM

If you feel like you are capable of doing it, then go for it! I think your gut will tell if you really feel up to it.

Some people (like me) are not quite as capable of taking on a lot of responsibilities and a full schedule, but I do know others who are naturally better at it.

Good luck, whatever you decide. :)

#5 bees-knees

Posted 05 February 2020 - 10:55 AM

I would probably look for work and study, but only part-time.