Do you have to clock on at work? If so, how?

• Please log in to reply
62 replies to this topic

#1 anon1071

Posted 16 February 2020 - 05:04 PM

My workplace is thinking of introducing a fingerprint system to use when we start and finish work.
There will only be a couple of minutes leeway and if any more we get docked our pay.
So this means that we will probably not be able to ever leave 10 mins early every now and then to get to an appointment or collect a child which pretty much everyone does. I’m wondering if this is another way to micromanage our workforce?
What are people’s opinions on this. I work in healthcare.

Edited by anon1071, 16 February 2020 - 05:08 PM.

#2 afterlaughter

Posted 16 February 2020 - 05:08 PM

I would expect to paid for every extra minute worked if they are docking pay for leaving early. They cannot have it both ways IMO.

#3 José

Posted 16 February 2020 - 05:14 PM

My DH clocks on and off with fingerprint.
He is on $$ per hour.

#4 Bearynice

Posted 16 February 2020 - 05:16 PM

I think that would be pretty standard if you work in a large workplace.
There is usually a window of time to clock in and clock out.

#5 kimasa

Posted 16 February 2020 - 05:22 PM

Fingerprint.

If we need to leave early or stay late or whatever we note it in the log kept next to the machine and our time in lieu balances are adjusted accordingly.

#6 Chocolate Addict

Posted 16 February 2020 - 05:24 PM

Not for a very long time. Most of my jobs had set hours and just had to sign a pay book each day.

I am guessing they are getting sick of people taking liberties and heading off early.

If I needed to leave early I would start early and reflect that in my wage book. I know many that don't though, so end up doing less hours than paid for.

I am self employed now and don't have set hours. :p

#7 amdirel

Posted 16 February 2020 - 05:28 PM