6 Month lease - Can any property managers help?

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Lime-Polka-Dot

Posted 17 May 2020 - 03:23 PM

I've been offered a lease on a lovely, very affordable place in my dream location. The property manager didn't mention it was only a 6 month lease to be extended after this time if obligations are met (paying rent on time and keeping the property in good condition) Until I recieved a copy of the lease.

I am a little concerned about the rent being increased after the 6 month lease and asked the property manager if this is likely. The response was that no discussion around this has been had with the landlord and 6 months is the new standard due to covid 19.

Is this normal for other agencies at the moment? Should I be concerned about a significant rent increase in 6 months? I'm in Victoria.

#2 No Drama Please

Posted 17 May 2020 - 03:50 PM

I’m not a property manager but I have moved into a place with a six month lease which didn’t get renewed because they just brought it and were wanting someone in to pay the mortgage till their own lease expired (didn’t mention it when we signed the lease) and have now seen a lot of six month leases now on ex Airbnb properties that are now on the market where they are going to see how the market goes before they decide if they can charge more or not.

If you’ve already moved I’d probably not get that comfortable and look around for something on a longer lease while you are in the current property or if you haven’t moved yet I’d try and negotiate a longer lease or just keep looking (that’s just my experience from having to more then move again six months later though, the less packing/unpacking/moving/looking the better).

#3 born.a.girl

Posted 17 May 2020 - 03:59 PM

I'd be wondering about airbnb being rented out for six months, too.

#4 Lime-Polka-Dot

Posted 17 May 2020 - 04:10 PM