Ideas for pork mince!

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 LittleMuffin

Posted 18 July 2007 - 02:59 PM

I found some pork mince in my freezer, anyone have any ideas of what I can do with it? I've never used it before!!

Thanks!  grin.gif

#2 Guest_dixiebelle_*

Posted 18 July 2007 - 03:13 PM

Pork and Lime Patties...

In a bowl mix the pork mince with an egg, oyster sauce, kecap manis, crushed garlic, grated fresh ginger, lime zest and lime juice, and the secret ingredient a small amount of brown sugar or palm sugar, as well as some finely chopped red capsicum or green beans...

Using your hands, or two tablespoons, scoop out small patties and fry in small amount of oil, or cook on the BBQ...

Serve with thai fried rice or just as an entree...

Or try these:
Asian pork patties

Preparation Time
15 minutes
Cooking Time
12 minutes

Ingredients (serves 4)
350g pork mince
1 small carrot, peeled, coarsely grated
50g green beans, topped, thinly sliced
1/2 red onion, diced
1 tsp ground coriander
2 tbs fish sauce
2 tbs peanut oil
1 long green chilli, halved, deseeded, finely chopped
1 lime, juiced
1 tsp caster sugar
1 tsp peanut oil, extra
1 butter lettuce, leaves separated, washed, dried
Method
Place pork mince, carrot, beans, onion, coriander and 1 tbs of the fish sauce in a bowl. Use your hands to mix until well combined. Divide into 12 portions. Use your hands to shape each into 2cm-thick, round 5cm patties.
Heat oil in a large frying pan over medium-high heat. Add half the patties and cook for 3 minutes each side or until golden. Transfer to a plate, cover loosely with foil and set aside. Repeat with remaining patties.
Meanwhile, place the chilli, lime juice, sugar, extra oil and remaining fish sauce in a small bowl. Stir to combine and set aside.
Place lettuce leaves on serving plates. Top with patties and drizzle with a little of the lime mixture. Serve with the remaining lime mixture.

Pork & coconut patties