Breastfeeding and constant headaches? UPDATED My GP says I should wean :(

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 desertflower

Posted 13 January 2008 - 06:47 PM

Hello,

I'm just wondering if anyone has experienced severe headaches while breastfeeding? I had bad headaches/migranes with both my pregnancies, but unfortunately didn't BF DD1. With DD2 I have been feeding her for 5 months and have had headaches the whole time. Sometimes its just a slight headache that a couple of panadol can look after, other times its a full blown migrane that leaves me in bed for days.

I really want to continue feeding as I love it, but I can't live like this anymore. Also, I'm pretty much always on painkillers which can't be good for bub, aer and it gets in the breastmilk. Other people are pressuring me to wean, but I'm scared that I'll wean her and the headaches will continue. I would be devastated.

Please help if you have experienced this or have any advice!

Thankyou so much

UPDATE: I went to my GP about my headaches, he thinks I should wean, as it is related to hormones. He seems to think it wll be resolved if I wean her. He also said that the medication I have to take for the pain would be in my breastmilk which is a concern. Its okay to take these painkillers every now and then, but not 2-3 times a week like I have been.

I am devastated, I worked so hard to establish breastfeeding, I really don't want to give it up.  sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif

Edited by Amebel, 14 January 2008 - 03:00 PM.

#2 2goreousgirls27

Posted 13 January 2008 - 07:11 PM

HI,

Sorry to hear about your migranes. sad.gif
I have not experienced this myself however a good friend of mine did.  I'll have to ask her what she did to remedy it, and then I'll post again during the week.

I did find some info on the ABA website that might help you.

http://www.breastfeeding.asn.au/bfinfo/unusual.html

On the meds side they had this to say;