A Mum's Guide to the Federal Budget

• Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#26 Ange

Posted 25 May 2008 - 11:52 AM

Also, from 1 July 09 the FTB will only be paid and claimed through medicare & centrelink, not via the tax system.

Will you still beable to elect for your FTB to be paid in a 'lump sum' at the end of the financial year (now that it's not through the ATO)?? (I'd hate to have to start estimating income and putting forms etc in!!)

#27 bjb79

Posted 26 May 2008 - 04:18 PM

My thoughts exactly Ange. It was so much easier to do it once a year than to constantly muck around with Centrelink!!

#28 nicster07

Posted 26 May 2008 - 05:47 PM

Justine, have you heard or seen any info on how the income threshold for the new 6-month baby bonus means test would be calculated for mums involved in a business who don't necessarily earn a salary but receive profits from a sole trading business or an annual trust or partnership distribution? As an accountant, I can't see how it would be easy to implement this for the average "working family" business owner.

#29 daviesjv

Posted 27 May 2008 - 09:00 AM

Nicster, if you as an accountant are confused then the rest of us have no hope!! All I can say is that it is based on adjusted taxable income. Irrespective of whether you earn a straight salary or rely on other forms of income, at the end of financial year your accountant will arrive at an end figure which is your adjusted taxable income. I know that doesn't answer your query - perhaps check out the CPA Asutralia website, they often have good technical information - www.cpaaustralia.com.au. Otherwise, the ATO website www.ato.gov.au. Good luck!

Cheers,
Justine

#30 daviesjv

Posted 27 May 2008 - 10:22 AM

Ange, just to answer your query as well, you WILL still be able to claim FTB as a lump sum at the end of financial year.
Cheers,
Justine

#31 globetrotter

Posted 28 May 2008 - 03:07 PM

hi everyone,