Hong Kong BG # 28

• Please log in to reply
79 replies to this topic

#26 rachelemma

Posted 12 November 2009 - 12:10 PM

Oh I'm so not looking forward to Emma learning to write in Chinese.

Not sure how much you should charge but I know teachers that charge that much for personal tuition. I really wouldn't know. I guess it depends on the numbers of hours you work and the situation. In saying that though, I know Charlie's playgroup would pay a westerner to take their English classes for $250 an hour. And that's with no qualifications whatsoever.

#27 Jane01

Posted 12 November 2009 - 09:02 PM

Ozekid - I have absolutely no idea about teachers assistants, but because I'm an accountant, HK$300 per hour is the equivalent of a monthly salary of HK$54,000. Bear in mind that you would be expected to earn more on an hourly rate basis than monthly basis.  A colleague of mine has a wife who has been a teacher (fully qualified, 20+ years experience) at an ESF school and earns HK$50k/month, 12 month year.  

I'd imagine that most schools have a set rate.  They might be testing you.  Consider whether you want to name a figure, or just say 'market rates'.

#28 BlondieUK

Posted 13 November 2009 - 08:13 AM

'Educational Assistants' in HK tend to earn between HK$120 and 140 an hour, based on an hour by hour contract - usually with a specified minimum during term time.

'Teaching Assistants' - fall into two categories: those who expected to participate fully in writing lessons plans and delivery (for example, in a KG where one teacher takes the lead in the morning, and the other takes the lead in the afternoon).....usually these teachers have some kind of qualification; and those who function more as general classroom assistants, for example, preparing materials and general organising of the classroom space. Salaries really vary between the local and international schools.